Chip Ganassi’s “Star Car” Takes Rolex 24 Win At Daytona

Photo:Attribution Some rights reserved by TransformersMan

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — Chip Ganassi bristles when his No. 02 team is called the “star car.”

Truth is, the moniker couldn’t be more appropriate right now.

Ganassi’s all-star driver lineup of three-time IndyCar champion Scott Dixon, Daytona 500 winner Jamie McMurray, Indianapolis 500 winner Tony Kanaan and NASCAR’s reigning top rookie Kyle Larson won the prestigious Rolex 24 at Daytona on Sunday to give the team owner his record-setting sixth victory in 12 attempts.

While Dixon led into the final hour after getting around Jordan Taylor for the lead following the second-to-last round of pit stops, the WTR Corvette DP pitted while under the final yellow to put Ricky Taylor aboard due a drive time miscalculation.

Had Jordan Taylor finished the race, he would have gone over the four-hour maximum driver time in a six-hour period.

Ricky Taylor restarted in third with eight minutes to go but was forced to serve a stop-and-go penalty for entering a closed pit. As a result, he, brother Jordan and Max Angelelli had to settle for a third place overall finish.

CORE Autosports owner Jon Bennett could only shrug.

“We did 23 hours and 46 minutes very successfully,” he said. “I think we had small contact with another car, which caused Colin to have a tire going down. We were trying to get back, we didn’t a splash of gas, anyway. That’s how racing is, I love it.”

The GT Daytona class was won by Riley Motorsports and drivers Ben Keating, Dominik Fambacher, Al Carter, Kuno Wittmer and Cameron Lawrence. Keating, who is a Dodge Viper car dealer and driver for the SRT team, choked back tears after the win.

From:, and

Share in...

    You must be logged in to post a comment Login